Wednesday, October 09, 2013

Midnight Syndicate Creates Another Horrifying Soundtrack (Axe Giant)

Virgil Films and Entertainment released the indie horror title Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan in June of 2013, on DVD. This release was followed-up by another from Midnight Syndicate, which is comprised of Edward Douglas (The Dead Matter) and Gavin Goszka. Midnight Syndicate is, arguably, one of the best composers of horror music. They have recently launched a soundtrack for Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan and this fan has had a chance to take a listen.

The soundtrack for the film, which released August 16th, 2013, is very atmospheric. Douglas blends lots of percussion and bass to create an unsettling tone, which is appropriate for a horror title of this calibre. The songs are diverse. The track "Minnesota 1894" blends a twangy stringed instrument with other, lighter melodies. The entire track list is well orchestrated and the songs compelled this listener to seek out the film, to see how the music amplified the visuals onscreen.

Midnight Syndicate is currently developing a Halloween styled live concert for music fans. And, readers are encouraged to both seek out this soundtrack for Axe Giant: The Wrath of Paul Bunyan and to preview what the Syndicate is brewing up in their sound studios. More info' on the soundtrack and Midnight Syndicate are below.

Release Date: August 16th, 2013 (Compact Disc, Digital Download).

Composer: Edward Douglas.

Label: Linfaldia Records.

Track Listings
1. Axe Giant Main Title
2. Minnesota 1894
3. Babe's Grave
4. S.T.U.M.P. Medley
5. Bunyan at Babe's Grave
6. S.T.U.M.P.s Meet Bunyan
7. No Escape
8. The Legend of Paul Bunyan
9. Zack's Last Stand
10. Bunyan's Cave
11. Bunyan on the Move
12. Final Showdown
13. Legend's End
14. The Ballad of Paul Bunyan (performed by Hick'ry Hawkins) - Hick'ry Hawkins

More on this soundtrack can be found at the Midnight Syndicate website:

The Axe Giant Soundtrack at the Midnight Syndicate

 |  | 

Advertise Here - Contact me Advertise at 28DLA

Subscribe to 28 Days Later: An Analysis Email Subscription